We recommend deactivating a user rather than deleting a user for data retention purposes. Deactivated users cannot register for programs or make reservations, however, their data and account are still stored in CivicRec and they can be reactivated by a staff member at any time.
If you need to get rid of a duplicate account, you can merge the two accounts together.
- If the user that needs to be deactivated is the main account holder, you will need to assign a new account holder first.
- Deactivating a user will deactivate them across all CivicRec organizations (does not apply to customers with dedicated hosting).
- Deactivated users will not receive any email or SMS alerts through CivicRec even if they are still opted-in to communication.
- Deactivated users cannot pay off any balances on their accounts or receive refunds for any prior purchases.
- Search for and select the user
- Click Edit User
- Check the Deactivated User box
- Note: You can re-activate a user at any time by unchecking the same box.
- Select Save User
- From the Accounts tab, you can still search for and access the user. The account will be greyed out with the verbiage [Deactivated].
- Note: The account will not show in the Catalog search screen as deactivated users cannot make any new purchases. Deactivated users cannot pay off any balances on their accounts or receive refunds for any prior purchases.
- A deactivated user will still be able to log into their CivicRec public account, however, there will be a banner across the screen notifying them that they have been deactivated
- Note: Deactivated users cannot make any new purchases, reserve, or register from the public catalog. Additionally, Deactivated users cannot pay off any balances on their accounts from the public view.